Weekend Citrus and Date Muffins

Weekend Citrus and Date Muffins

I love the weekends and nothing brings me greater joy than whipping up a batch of these muffins for a lazy Saturday morning breakfast – preferably taken al fresco with a steaming hot cup of Earl Grey tea. To say these are my favourite muffins would be the understatement of the year! I almost didn’t want to share this post because that is how delicious they are. Imagine a warm, moist, crumbly cake studded with dates and pecan nuts and scented with the most delicious citrus flavour from clementine pulp. Am I winning you over yet? What I adore about these muffins is that they are not too sweet and are best eaten warm out of the oven with a bit of butter and a really good apricot jam – my favourite being Bonne Maman’s Apricot reserve which is stocked by most Woolworths stores in South Africa. I urge you to try these out and NOT like them! These muffins can be made with oranges if you can’t find clementines or naartjies. They work just as well but you may have to add more juice to your batter as oranges have a thicker skin, more pulp and less juice than their cousins.

THE muffin

I always bake these muffins in a giant muffin pan – the yield then is approximately 8 giant muffins or 14 regular ones.

350g cake flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 tsp fine salt

150g dates, roughly chopped

50-100g pecan nuts, chopped

70g treacle sugar

350g clementines

1/2 cup clementine juice

2 XL Free-range eggs

150g butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 180C. Sift the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt into a mixing bowl ( I hate this part and avoid sifting anything – instead, a handy trick is to just run a whisk through the dry ingredients to get rid of any lumps). Add the chopped dates and pecan nuts and mix until they are coated in flour. Add the treacle sugar and mix again. Cut up the clementines, skin and all, then remove the stem end and any pips and place in a food processor along with the freshly squeezed clementine juice. Process until the clementine peels are chopped finely and then add the eggs. Pulse until the eggs are mixed into the fruit pulp. Add the contents of the food processor, along with the melted butter, to the flour mixture and stir until combined. Spoon the batter into a greased muffin tin or paper cups and bake for 20-25 minutes (they take 15 minutes in my psycho oven – so keep an eye on them!)

These are best eaten the day that they are made…but that shouldn’t be a problem!

8 comments

  1. Fan-bloody-tastic!!! Love the blog “Scarlett” and so thrilled that you have taken the plunge! Can’t wait to try out all the yummies!

    • Claire, I found mine at woolworths – I used a variety called ‘Clemengold’ which are a sort of mix between a manderin and a clementine. Naartjies also make a good substitute – and failing that, oranges. Hope this helps! 🙂

  2. I got up at 6am on Sunday morning just to try out these muffins! Believe me, it was worth it!! They are divine! We sat with steaming cups of coffee eating wonderful warm citrusy muffins straight out the oven! Yum! And they are terrific with gooseberry jam too!

    • Oh I am so pleased you tried them and that they were good! Thanks for letting me know! Although – I doubt I’d wake at 6am to make them! xxxx


Leave a Reply

