Rhubarb and Custard Muffins

Rhubarb and Custard Muffins

I have been known to buy fruits and vegetables, simply because I like the look of them. I cannot tell you how many times a fat bottomed aubergine with glossy purple skin, has made it into my shopping basket, then sat, sulking on the shelf, as I haven’t had a clue what to do with it. Yesterday, I could not resist the most perfect bunch of rhubarb, every stem a deep, dipped crimson. I was mesmerised, I could not walk away. Fortunately, I love rhubarb and have been dying to make these muffins. I found this recipe on a food blog called ‘The English Kitchen’ and have adapted it somewhat. I was pleased with the overall result – any baked good with creme fraiche/sour cream in it, is bound to have a wonderful moist crumb. I think my custard was a little too thick, as it didn’t possess the same oozing quality depicted in pictures of the original recipe – so next time I may thin it ever so slightly. 

Rhubarb and Custard Muffins

Makes 10 muffins

100-150g rhubarb (the pinkest stems you can find) cut into small cubes

1 cup brown sugar

Just over a 1/4 cup of oil

1 xl free-range egg

grated zest of 1 orange

2 tbsp fresh orange juice

1 x 250g tub creme fraiche

2 1/2 cups self-raising flour, sifted

1/2 tsp ground ginger (optional)

8 tbsp thick custard ( I made mine with custard powder according to the directions on the box for a thick custard)

Brown sugar for sprinkling

Icing sugar for dusting

Preheat the oven to 200C. Line a muffin tin with 10 muffin cases/papers. Using an electric mixer, beat the sugar, oil and egg for about 2 minutes until combined. Add the orange juice, orange zest and creme fraiche. Beat on medium speed for a further 2 minutes. Add the ground ginger and flour and mix with a metal spoon until combined. Don’t panic if the mixture is very thick ( I could have layed bricks with mine) it will turn out ok! Stir in the rhubarb. Spoon heaped teaspoonfuls into the paper cases, then add a small dollop of custard to each muffin, then cover with a further heaped teaspoon of the rhubarb batter. Sprinkle with brown sugar and bake for about 15-20 minutes. Leave to cool on a wire rack, then dust with icing sugar.

Leave a Reply

