Swedish Blackcurrant Chicken

Swedish Blackcurrant Chicken

I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed making this particular meal. Firstly, I love anything Swedish and secondly, I love unusual flavour combinations, so how could this not be a winner,when the central ingredient tying everything together is…wait for it…blackcurrant cordial! I was at once, both repulsed and excited – I am not sure if that is a good thing when it comes to food! I got this recipe from a wonderful Swedish food blog called ‘Anne’s Food’, I have adapted it quite a bit and am pleased to report – it was a success. The chicken stayed wonderfully moist, the sauce had a delicious, earthy depth to it – and the blackcurrant cordial was not overpowering at all, instead it added a wonderful subtle fragrance and sweetness. I loved this dish, even slightly more than I love Abba, and I would make it again.  

Swedish Blackcurrant Chicken

Serves 3-4

9 skinless, filleted free-range chicken thighs (The original recipe uses chicken pieces with the bone in)

Butter

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

300g baby carrots

2 large onions, halved, then each half cut into 3 wedges (If you want a ‘neater’ looking dish, use baby onions instead)

2ooml fresh or frozen blackcurrants (optional. I couldn’t find any, so I omitted them)

1tsp fresh or dried thyme

100ml blackcurrant cordial

400ml water

1 chicken stock cube (I ordinarily don’t use chicken stock cubes – but this dish requires a really concentrated flavour. A substitute would be a tablespoon of a good powdered stock)

1 tbsp runny honey

Freshly ground black pepper

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tsp cornflour/Maizena

Melt a fairly generous knob of butter in a saucepan over medium heat, add the chicken and fry until browned. Add the carrots, garlic and onion wedges, blackcurrants, if using and thyme. Then add the blackcurrant cordial, water, 1 chicken stock cube, crumbled, honey and black pepper. Cover with a lid and cook over medium heat for 30 minutes, (if using chicken pieces with the bone in – cook for a little longer). Scoop the vegetables and chicken from the saucepan and place in a serving dish, keep warm. Whisk 2 tsp Maizena into the ‘stock’ along with the soy sauce. Keep whisking until the sauce has thickened, then strain through a sieve into a jug. Pour over the chicken and vegetables. The original recipe suggests serving this dish with boiled baby potatoes – but I think a little rice would be nice to soak up some of the delicious sauce.

Leave a Reply

