Lush Gin and Tonic Truffles

Gin and Tonic Truffles

My lovely Facebook friend, Jacquie, suggested I visit Yuppiechef’s website where I found these decadent treats. The original recipe is taken from ‘Miss Hope’s Chocolate Box’, and I must say,if any of the other recipes in the book are like this, I will be buying a copy soon! This is truly a lovely combination of flavours, the fragrant lime and gin perfume the chocolate – and the truffles really do end up tasting of Gin and Tonic. Fancy that! You don’t even need to get all Heston Blumenthal about it, it’s culinary magic…without liquid nitrogen!  I was in an iffy mood when I made these – a mess before I even tasted the gin, but these somehow still turned out ok, the chocolate mixture needs to chill overnight in the fridge – and despite it being a very cold day here, the slightest handling of them led to some major melting, so I would not advise making these on a very hot day! The recipe states that you should get 20 truffles out of this mixture, I only managed 15 – but perhaps that’s because the other 5 would-be truffles were coating my hands! Either way, these are fabulous, just like you!

Gin and Tonic Truffles

100g good quality dark chocolate ( I used Lindt super-fine dark chocolate)

2 tbsp double cream

2 tbsp gin

Zest and juice of half a lime (about 2 tbsp of juice)

50g unsalted butter, chopped

Cocoa for dusting

Start by bashing your slab of chocolate on the counter until it is broken up, empty these shards into the top of a double-boiler – or a heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of gently simmering hot water (being careful to not let the heatproof bowl touch the water). Add the cream and melt until smooth and glossy. Add the gin, lime zest, lime juice and chopped butter and stir until smooth and combined. Pour into a bowl and cover. Refrigerate overnight. Using a teaspoon, scoop up small mounds of chocolate and quickly roll into balls, place the truffles on a baking sheet, lined with baking paper and refrigerate for a further hour before dusting with cocoa. Lush!

4 comments

  1. So glad you have tried them … I saw the recipe too and was intrigued! Now I’ll definitely give them a test drive.

    • Hi Ann, do try them, they were lovely. The only thing I’d change would have been to omit the lime zest – I personally did not like the texture of it.


Leave a Reply

