Surprise! Pasta Salad

Surprise! Pasta Salad

I am very lucky to be surrounded by some wonderfully inventive cooks. You know the type, they throw everything together as they go, making cooking seem oh so effortless and produce something that would impress Gordon Ramsay. One of these people, is my friend Sita, who inspired this particular creation. I first tasted her take on this salad 2 years ago and the love affair continues. I have tweaked it as I’ve gone along and make it regularly. It is a wonderful meal when you are tired and want something quick and delicious, and the leftovers are great for the next day’s lunch.  I have found that writing this food blog has inspired me to become more inventive in my cooking, and the fact, that you, dear readers could even be bothered to read and comment on my food, has boosted my confidence in the kitchen tremendously. I recently stumbled upon a wonderful Julia Child quote which I have taken to heart, she says: ” The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude”.  So dear readers, out there in cyber space, I am going to be working on my ‘What-the-hell attitude” and not just as far as my cooking goes! I am feeling a strong urge right now to beat my chest and shout “I am woman, hear me roar!”, however more pressing matters await, such as the recipe for this salad. Please forgive the rather twee title – I am tired and going a little mad. If you make this salad, and can think of something more inspiring to call it – please do drop me a line. In the meantime, do visit Sita’s amazing blog: http://www.sitamoyo.co.za/ she rocks!

Surprise! Pasta Salad

500g Penne Pasta ( or whatever pasta you fancy. What the hell!)

100ml canola oil

80-100ml Soy sauce, according to taste

2 tsp crushed garlic

2 tsp finely chopped green chilli

2 tsp finely grated fresh ginger

1 red pepper, sliced

1 green pepper, sliced

1 yellow pepper, sliced

1 bunch spring onions, chopped

150g feta, cubed

100g roasted and salted cashew nuts

Start by boiling your pasta in plenty of salted water until cooked. Drain and rinse with cold water to cool it down.  Pour the drained, cooked pasta into a salad bowl and add the canola oil and the soy sauce, stir to combine. Next, stir in the chilli, ginger and garlic (feel free to add more or less according to your preference – we are after all adopting a ‘what the hell attitude, aren’t we?). Stir to combine. Add the peppers, spring onion, feta and nuts, give everything a good stir and eat with gusto and wild abandon.

 

One comment


Leave a Reply

