Ghetto Fabulous Peanut Butter Chocolate Pretzel Brownies

Ghetto Fabulous Peanut Butter Chocolate Pretzel Brownies

I have a confession to make, I’m a closet gangsta. I work really hard to suppress it, but sometimes it just slips out. I know an attack is coming on because I suddenly want to say things like: ‘Whatup bitches’ or ‘Yo, yo, yo! Ho!’  I tend to throw words like ‘Eastside/Westside’ into conversation, if I’m really running with it, I’ll do ‘gangsta hands’ (these are like ‘Jazz hands’ only cooler).  I would love to say things like “Hey, that dog just popped a cap in that guys ass”, but I never can quite figure out how to work it into a conversation. The last time I called someone ‘Homie’, they thought I was calling them homeless…It ain’t no fun being gangsta on your own. Word. Busted.

So I made these brownies, and they were delicious, gooey, fudgey, crunchy, sinful and slammin’. Don’t eat them if you have that phobia of peanut butter sticking to the roof of your mouth.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Pretzel Brownies

adapted from ‘Joy the Baker’

Makes 9 large brownies

125g butter

60g dark chocolate (use a good quality chocolate)

170g semi sweet chocolate, chopped ( I used a packet of Nestle’s semi sweet chocolate morsels)

1 tsp instant coffee

3/4 cup sugar

3 xl free-range eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

Coarse sea salt for topping ( I use Maldon salt)

For the Peanut Butter Topping:

4 tbsp butter, melted

1/2 cup icing sugar

3/4 smooth peanut butter

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

A handful of pretzels (any shape you fancy)

Preheat the oven to 160C. Grease, line with baking paper, or spray with non-stick spray a baking pan/dish. Combine the butter, dark chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate and coffee in a double-boiler or in a glass bowl set over a pan of simmering water (do not allow the hot water to touch the bowl). Stir occasionally until melted and smooth. Allow to cool and add the vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl, give the flour, salt and baking powder a whisk to remove any lumps. Whisk the sugar into the cooled chocolate mixture. It should be lukewarm, then whisk the eggs in one at a time. Fold in the flour mixture and pour into your greased pan. For the topping: whisk the peanut butter, icing sugar, salt and vanilla til smooth. Pour this over the brownie mixture and smooth it out over the surface, now take a butter knife, and tilting it at an angle, gently drag it through the mixture to make a ripple effect. You don’t want to mix it in, just make a pretty swirl. Arrange the pretzels on top, any which way you like, and sprinkle with a little sea salt. Bake for about 30 minutes ( brownies actually benefit from being slightly under cooked to maintain that fudgey moistness, so use your discretion, homies).  Cool for 30 minutes before cutting into squares. Serve with a big glass of milk.

Ready for the oven.

 

Thanks so much to all of you who have subscribed to the blog!  Please come and join my Facebook page if you haven’t yet.

Peace out.

Toffee, the most gangsta cat I know

9 comments

  1. Could I make these sans the topping? Would they work anyway? They look amazing – going to have to try these in my quest to find the perfect brownie recipe. So far Bill Granger and Nigella are winning 🙂 Thanks for these amazing recipes Louise – your blog is a feast for the senses xx

    • Hi Sherran, thanks so much for the lovely compliment! To be honest, I don’t think these would be too great without the Peanut butter topping. Let me know if you give it a try – I am not the best brownie maker by a long shot! 🙂 xxx

  2. Pingback: The Ultimate List of Peanut Butter & Chocolate Recipes - Simply Stacie


Leave a Reply

