Treacle Bran Muffins with Cranberries and Pecan Nuts

So yes, my muffins got burnt. Clearly. I had hoped you wouldn’t notice, but it’s kind of distracting, even now I can’t divert my eyes from the chargrilled tops. It’s a freakin’ muffin carnage. It wasn’t my fault they got burnt. I was filled with love and baking good will – I even made this, out of cranberries:

In fact, everything was running smoothly, my muffins needed another 2 minutes, they looked pretty darn perfect, until a pair of monkey thugs broke into my kitchen and stole my bananas, they then sat around my garden smirking and talking about me in their little monkey voices:

Smug looking, aren’t they?

So while I was shooting the perps (I’ve been watching too much CSI), my muffins got toasted. Oh well. They still tasted good. This is a really lovely recipe, the sour cream gives a wonderful lightness in texture. Despite containing treacle and brown sugar, they are not overly sweet, so don’t be tempted to omit the dried fruit.

No monkeys were harmed in the making of this blog post…

Treacle Bran Muffins with Cranberries and Pecan Nuts

adapted from Joy the Baker

Makes 12 muffins

125g butter

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1 free-range egg, lightly beaten

1 cup sour cream

80ml Black treacle or molasses

100g (about a cup) dried cranberries, raisins or dates

100g pecan nuts, roughly chopped

1 cup flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup digestive bran

Preheat the oven to 180C. Grease a muffin pan with butter or spray with non-stick spray, and set aside.

In a bowl, mix the butter and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes (I gave up after 1 minute). Add the egg, sour cream and treacle/molasses and beat on medium speed until well incorporated. In a small bowl whisk together the flour, bicarbonate of soda, salt and bran. Add the dry ingredients all at once to the wet ingredients. Mix until everything is incorporated. Fold in the dried fruit and nuts. Batter will be fairly thick, don’t panic.

 

Spoon into the prepared muffin tin. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Don’t get distracted by monkeys and run out the door. Remove from the oven. Allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

2 comments

    • Thank you Candice! I hope you had a truly sensational Birthday! The monkeys are very cute, they visit most days, drink water out of the birdbath and play for hours in the garden. The loveliest, is when the mothers visit with their babies! xo


Leave a Reply

