Brioche with Ricotta and Matcha Honey

I’m not good with plants. There, I said it. Plants in my care don’t survive. I clearly do not have green thumbs. The only plants I own, that have not yet died, are three cacti on my windowsill, inherited from my friends digs when we left university. The irony, is that I love plants, I have wild fantasies about having my own kitchen garden, overrun with vegetables and herbs, I see myself wading through the abundant foliage, trimming fronds of basil and picking the ripest, red tomatoes, wearing a broad-rimmed sun hat. Alas, herbs in my care don’t make it. They die, long slow painful deaths.  So, I had all but given up hope, when the weirdest thing happened to me in the food market at Woolworth’s yesterday, I had, what I can only describe, as a profound spiritual connection with a pot plant. There on the second shelf, next to a plethora of blooming bunches of roses and sunflowers, a single blue pot and from it sprouting, succulent green fronds, no flowers, no scent, no whistles or bells, was the loneliest pot plant I’d ever seen. It even had a sell-by date. I picked it up and gently touched the green leaves, before placing it back on the shelf – I mean what was I thinking? Best leave the cute green pot plant for someone who actually knows what they’re doing, right? I did my shopping and was about to pay for my goods, when this overwhelming urge came over me. I immediately returned to the flower section, suddenly anxious that someone had bought my plant! Fortunately – he was still there. So dear friends, I am now the proud mama of this:

Meet Lionel

His name is Lionel, and he is a Blue Hyacinth. I am proud to report, one day in, he is still alive! I intend to keep it that way too!

So after watering Lionel and making sure he was in direct sunlight, I made this dish. It’s so simple, it’s hardly a recipe but it tastes delicious. Buttery, toasted brioche, spread with fresh ricotta and drizzled with the slightly bitter matcha honey. What bliss! Matcha, is a green tea powder – I am fortunate to have a brother in Japan who keeps me stocked up on it. If you can’t find it, feel free to omit it from the recipe and add ground cinnamon or whatever flavouring you fancy to your honey, even plain, it will still be delicious!  

Brioche with Ricotta and Matcha Honey

Adapted from Raspberri Cupcakes

Serves 2

4 thick slices brioche

1 cup fresh Ricotta

1/4 cup honey (I used Saligna blossom)

1 tbsp water

1 tsp matcha powder (optional)

ground cinnamon for sprinkling

Heat some butter in a large frying pan and once it has melted, add the sliced brioche, cook until toasted and golden brown on both sides. In a small saucepan, combine the honey, water and matcha. Whisk until combined and heat gently. Spread the brioche with the ricotta cheese and drizzle with the warm matcha honey. Sprinkle with ground cinnamon and serve.

2 comments

  1. Louise, your stories are brilliant and I really enjoy reading them! I also pray that Lionel will survive your tender attentions! 😉 Hopefully he is Lionel the Lionhearted Hyacinth! XXX


Leave a Reply

