The Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato and Red Onion Salad

I’ve had a rough couple of days. If I were a cartoon – I’d be the stick figure with a rain cloud above my head and a lightening bolt looming in the foreground…on the bright side, if I were a stick figure, I’d be really, really thin! I’ve been moping around in my pyjamas, lip synching to ‘Bennie and the Jets’ and Lil Wayne’s ‘She Will’. Even my gangsta moves are depressing me. My cats think I’m crazy…to be honest, that’s the least of my worries.

So I made grilled cheese sandwiches, out of some ingredients I had lying around the house, that I artfully arranged on some brown paper:

I was happy for a while, eating this sandwich. It was goooood. sigh. Life’s a bitch and then you die.

The Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato and Red Onion Salad

adapted from Taste Magazine

Makes 4 sandwiches

3 tbsp Olive oil

1 clove, peeled garlic

1 sprig fresh rosemary

2oog cheddar cheese, grated

1 1/2 tbsp wholegrain mustard

2 free-range egg yolks

Worcester Sauce to taste

1 tbsp finely chopped, fresh flat-leaf parsley

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

8 Slices Ciabatta or bread of your choice

For the Salad

2oog cherry tomatoes, halved

1 handful fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped

1 red onion finely sliced

A drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Salt and ground black pepper to taste

Place the olive oil, whole garlic clove and rosemary in a small saucepan and heat slightly. Remove from the heat and allow to infuse for 1 hour. Mix the grated cheddar, mustard, egg yolks, Worcester sauce (just a few drops, I really over did it!) parsley and chopped garlic and season to taste. Place the 4 slices of bread on a board and spread generously with the cheese mixture. Season and place another slice of bread on top. Brush the surface of the bread, on both sides with the infused olive oil. Heat a frying pan over low heat. Place one sandwich at a time into the pan and fry on both sides until the bread is golden brown and the cheddar has melted (if you like, you can add a knob of butter to the pan). Serve warm with a helping of the tomato and onion salad. To make the salad, combine all the ingredients in a bowl.

 

One comment

  1. As per usual, I read a few words of your story and then started spluttering with laughter. You are so entertaining. (In fact, paradoxically, you know, you are just what you need to lift you out of your slough of despond! 🙂 I have zilch cheese in the house except some of “Graham’s” grana padano, so this delightful snack will have to wait. But I’m def going to make it very very very soon! XXX


Leave a Reply

