Cloud Pudding

So I entered a competition that I didn’t know was an actual competition.

The prize was AMAZING. WONDERFUL.  BRILLIANT. FANFREAKIN’TASTIC.

I could taste it.

I wanted this REAL bad.

The prize was as follows: 

A trip to London in November, to collaborate with playwrights from the African Continent and The National Theatre Studio

Your play, published

A further winner would be chosen to visit Poland to collaborate with other playwrights and industry professionals

Your play produced by the National Theatre Studio, London, 2012

So I entered this competition, that I didn’t know was an actual competition. After months and months of waiting, I got an email to say that I had been chosen out of 300 playwrights on the African Continent and beyond, for the shortlist of 20, of which 6 would be chosen to go to London.

I was elated, proud, joyful, hopeful.

I crossed every bone in my body, prayed to every God, channeled positive energy, tried to believe in myself.

I didn’t make the top 6.  The dream slipped through my fingers. Writing this is hard.

So I made a pudding , that reminded of a less complicated time in my life, where it was possible to believe in unimaginably grand and fabulous wishes, convinced beyond convincing that all of them would eventually come true.

I also, really, really like marshmallows.

Cloud Pudding

Serves 6

250g marshmallows cut into quarters (I found it incredibly therapeutic cutting through the yielding marshmallow flesh)

300g glazed cherries, halved

1 x 44og tin pineapple pieces, drained

The juice of approximately 5 lemons – you will need 100ml

1 tin condensed milk

300ml cream

1 x 200g packet Tennis biscuits, crushed

Pour the condensed milk into a fairly large mixing bowl and slowly whisk in the lemon juice.  Set aside to allow the mixture to thicken slightly. In a separate bowl, beat the cream until stiff with an electric beater. Add the cherries, marshmallows and pineapple to the condensed milk mixture and stir to combine. Gently fold in the whipped cream and finally the crushed Tennis biscuits.  Allow to chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours before serving.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. awe dear scarlett – so with you on this one – disappointment falls like soft rain – but trust you and your irrepressible inner child to find a recipe for marshmallow rainbow mix in there somewhere! Definitely one for me and the little Prince – yum yum indeed!


Leave a Reply

