Sweet Corn and Bacon Chowder

So Halloween is over.

Thank God.

I don’t want to rain on anyones parade, but I freakin’ hate dressing up.  I went to one Halloween party. It was crazy. Pink rabbits, zombies, a banana. I couldn’t drink enough to make that ok. I wore my matric dance dress, painted my face white with some really dodgy face paint, and little trickles of red ‘blood’ coming out of my mouth. I then made a sash. Miss necrophilia 2000. What the hell was I thinking? It was hot – I mean weather wise, and after an hour my face paint started melting. I ain’t gonna lie. It wasn’t pretty.

so while I’m putting all this out there,

I really don’t like summer. There, I said it. Blistering heat, sweat. I hate that stuff. 

I’m hankering after winter.  I’d pick rain any day. So I made soup.

This may be a winter dish, but it has bright summery ingredients – a splash of lemon, some ripe red pepper, juicy, crunchy corn and some fresh basil. It’s a happy medium. Winter/Summer in a bowl.

So make it. Immediately.

One more thing – my friend Catherine lives in New York. Yesterday a group of ‘zombies’ threw themselves against the window to the restaurant where she was eating. She got such a fright, she almost choked on her Cobb Salad.

Quit being zombies, people – or at least learn the Heimlich manoeuvre.

Sweet Corn and Bacon Chowder

Serves 6-8

Adapted from Elle Decoration August/September 2011

250g back bacon, chopped

2 onions, chopped

A good glug of olive oil

1 leek, chopped

3 medium potatoes, peeled and diced

2 litres chicken stock

4 cups frozen sweet corn

1 red pepper, diced

4ooml cream

half a bunch spring onions, sliced

Cornflour/Maizena to thicken (optional)

Salt and pepper

Juice of half a lemon

Basil leaves

Cook the bacon in a little olive oil on medium heat until crispy/cooked; remove with a slotted spoon and set aside. Add a little more olive oil to the same pan and cook the onions over low heat, until soft and translucent. Add the leeks and potatoes and saute for a few minutes over medium heat. Add the stock and cook for about 10-15 minutes. Add the frozen sweet corn, peppers, bacon and cream and cook for 10 minutes. Add the spring onions and cook for 5 minutes. If you prefer a thicker soup, add some cornflour/Maizena mixed with a little cold water at this point. I used about 3 tbsp cornflour to half a cup of water.  Season the soup with salt, pepper and lemon juice to taste. Garnish with torn basil leaves and serve with crusty bread. Make sure there are no zombies around when you eat this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

