Strawberry, Peanut Brittle, Avocado and Goats’ Cheese Salad

So on Monday, I turned 33 years of age.

I know.

WTF.

I’m not ready for 33 – can I just put that out there? Like I have a choice.

33 is beginning to feel just a little too grown up, you know?

On the night prior to turning 33, I lay awake unable to sleep, all of these crazy things running through my mind – like, am I eating enough blueberries, OMG I don’t have a pension, What about my biological clock, do I need to freeze my eggs, do my ovaries still work, should I colour the grey out of my hair, do I need Botox? I don’t want Botox! Am I too neurotic? Am I not neurotic enough?  Is this normal? Am I normal? Should I become a Buddhist? I don’t know!

It was 3.39am when I gave myself a darn good talking to.

You’re 33, get a grip.

Yeah, right.

My friends gave me a card, with their condolences:

That is exactly how I feel.

Gotta love friends.

So I did what I always do when I get really freaked out.

I made salad.

This salad is all kinds of deliciousness. Don’t be afraid of the peanut brittle, it’s genius.

Strawberry, Peanut Brittle, Avocado and Goats’ Cheese Salad

makes one large salad

Adapted from Spatula Magazine

 

300g rocket, washed and spun. Try and use wild rocket, if you can.

2 ripe avocados, de-pipped and cut into squares – or scooped if you prefer a more rustic look.

2 cups strawberries, rinsed, hulled and quartered.

1 generous cup peanut brittle, loosely crushed ( this is the therapeutic part – when you get to bash it with a rolling-pin)

1 cup of goats’ cheese crumbled.

3 tbsp (or more) of balsamic glaze

Maldon salt and pepper to taste

For the Balsamic Glaze:

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp brown sugar

Start by making the glaze. Heat the balsamic vinegar and brown sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat. Simmer for 6-8 minutes (I let mine go for 10 minutes, I’m a rebel), stirring occasionally until slightly reduced and syrupy (it will thicken further on standing). Remove, cover and set aside to cool.

For the salad: Combine all of the ingredients, season with salt and pepper and drizzle with the balsamic glaze.

devour.

 

2 comments

  1. when I got married the minister told me I was like a rare antique with an ageless beauty, I’ve never been sure whether he meant I looked like Peter’s mother…, how ever… here I pass it on to you, as you are also an ageless beauty who needs no artifice

    • Oh Marita – you are an ageless beauty! Thank you for the uplifting compliment. Need them now more than ever! 🙂


Leave a Reply

