A Surprising Cheesecake

IMG_20140127_215941

I’m not trying to be a smart ass – but I made this cheesecake in a microwave. Yup.  You betcha.  It took me 10 minutes – you’d swear it had taken me at least an hour – it was that good. Now before you go tut tutting and shaking your head and thinking why the hell would anyone make a cheesecake in a microwave – I’m gonna tell you something else – there is no cheese in this cheesecake. “No cheese in this cheesecake!” you cry – waving your fist in the air. Exactly.  Now I know this may not appear to be the height of sophistication – and there are gonna be people out there, who on learning you made dessert in a microwave – may shun you. I’m not gonna lie. It’s a possibility.  That’s their problem. You’ll get over it. You’ll be too busy devouring every last morsel to give a damn. I promise.

I don’t know why I’m talkin’ like I belong on the set of a movie set in Brooklyn. It could be because I’m watching a movie with Al Pacino. He’s playing a gangster – between you and me I think he’s been typecast.

This cheesecake is going to surprise you in all kinds of ways – and not like the scene in Psycho where Janet Leigh is surprised in the shower by Norman Bates and stabbed to death either. This is going to be a good surprise – like getting 3 numbers on your lotto ticket – I actually wanted to say it would be like winning the lotto – but I’m not prone to exaggeration.

What you’re going to end up with is the smoothest, creamiest, most lusciously delectable cheesecake. The  only snag is that I suggest making it the day before you intend eating it – as the flavour and texture improve enormously. Feel free to mix it up – I sometimes use ginger biscuits for the base and plain Greek yoghurt which I flavour with lemon rind and lemon juice for a lemon cheesecake. This recipe lends itself to experimentation.

A Surprising Cheesecake

Serves 6

For the base:

1 x 200g packet Tennis biscuits (or biscuits of your choice)

150g butter, melted

For the Filling:

500g double cream/full cream yoghurt ( Now please don’t start whining  – this is dessert – I refuse to use fat-free yoghurt – if you want to try it be my guest. For this variation I used 2x 150g tubs of Woolworth’s Mixed Berry Trifle double cream yoghurt and 200g Greek yoghurt.)

1 tin Full cream sweetened condensed milk

Freshly squeezed lemon juice to taste (I used the juice of about 1 1/2 lemons)

Crush your biscuits in a bag using a rolling-pin – or for a finer texture blend in a food processor. Mix with the melted butter and press into a greased pie dish (this doesn’t make a huge cheesecake – so use a slightly smaller dish). Place in the deep freeze to firm up while you make the filling. In a bowl, combine the yoghurt, condensed milk and add lemon juice to taste. The lemon will help to thicken the mixture slightly and create the illusion that there is actually cream cheese in this cheesecake. Pour this mixture into your prepared biscuit base and microwave on high for five minutes. What you will notice is that something magical happens – the yoghurt filling firms up – you can test the cheesecake is done when you gently touch the surface – it should be smooth, firm and not make a huge indentation. If it still feels wobbly microwave for a minute more.  Allow the cheesecake to cool for about 15 minutes before transferring to the fridge. If you can bear it – leave ’til the following day – It will be worth it.

P.S. Ignore the picture – I couldn’t wait and cut the cheesecake too soon – I promise it will be firm the next day.

Leave a Reply

